Geeks Are Not Children in Grown Up Bodies

Originally published at: Geeks Are Not Children in Grown Up Bodies -

By Lara Taylor

Something that has come up a lot for me recently (and for pretty much my entire life) is people assuming that I need to grow up because I am into geeky things like video games and comics. They assume that it’s just “kids’ stuff” and write me off as someone less than an adult because of my interests.

This is not a geek... and it's actually a little creepy.

No matter that I graduated from college with honors, I currently hold down a full-time job while attending graduate school, I live on my own and pay my own bills, and I’m getting married next year. For some reason, many people who aren’t into geek culture have decided that being a geek and being an adult are mutually exclusive.

This is definitely not the case.

When we look at people with other hobbies, we tend to think that what they did as adolescents is okay to carry on into adult life. Jocks are able to continue playing sports, either professionally or recreationally, and no one bats an eye. As adults, we are encouraged to continue our fandom over the home team that we loved as children. If we don’t, people look at us as if there’s something wrong with us.

Would this transformer be as "cool" if it weren't sports themed? (I say yes!)

Auto shop kids who keep working on cars throughout life, even if it isn’t their career, are seen as well adjusted adults. My brother-in-law is building a WWII era Jeep and (other than the fact that it’s costing a lot of money) no one really has a problem with his hobby. In fact, everyone around him seems to think it’s pretty cool.