Welcome to Geeks & Family Therapy!

Originally published at: https://gft.geektherapy.com/2017/04/01/welcome-to-gft/

So my first post regarding a podcast which will go live later this week. My name is Kat, I will be co-hosting a podcast with my friend Leanika, called Geeks and Family Therapy. I am a family therapist in Pennsylvania, working towards licensure, as well as becoming a certified Ecosystemic Family Therapist.

What is Eco Systemic Family Therapy? ESFT is a treatment for children and families experiencing behavioral or relational challenges and is based on the theory that change in family structure contributes to change in the behavior of individual members. ESFT begins with the fundamental assumption that both the child and caregivers functioning are linked to their relational environments at home and in the community. Treating a child within this model means working simultaneously with the child and family, the home setting, and the family’s community network. (from http://dbhids.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/EPIC-ESFT.pdf )

Leanika received her Masters degree in Media Psychology from Touro University in 2016; which is a new branch of psychology which focuses on the relationship between human behavior and media; which includes social media.

Currently, she works as a case planner for a non-profit foster care program in NYC. But hopes to focus her skills working in social media and consulting. Lea particularly enjoys working with the cosplay, gaming and comic communities.

What will Geeks & Family Therapy be about?

Geek culture’s influence and impact on families; its presence and use in family therapy as well how psychology is used in geek culture and media.

Both Lea and Kat will discuss popular culture and its impact on families. How psychology is utilized to influence consumers, when purchasing toys, games, books, movie tickets, etc. As well as how media, pop culture, and geek culture can be utilized in psychology and therapy.

3 Likes